Georg Agricola Medallion

At its General Meeting in Freiberg/Saxony in 1924, the society initiated a silver medallion carrying the name "Georg Agricola Medallion" in memory of the founder of the scientific treatment of mineralogy and of mining and smelting processes. It is awarded for outstanding achievements in the areas of mining and smelting through which essential progress has been made in these branches of technology from a scientific, practical or economic standpoint. The award takes place according to a mutual decision by the Presiding Committee and after consulting with the Advisory Committee of the society.

Holders of the Georg Agricola Medallion

2019 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Reinhard Döpp
2018 Dr.-Ing. Emanuel Grün
2017 Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Helmut Antrekowitsch
Dipl.-Ing. Norbert L. Piret
2016 Dr. Kunibert Hanusch
2015 Prof. Dr. Bronislaw Barchanski
2014 Heinz-Peter Schlüter
2013 Dr. Hans Schneider
2012 Dipl.-Ing. Kurt Ehrke
2011 Oberberghauptmann a.D. Prof. Reinhard Schmidt
2010 Dipl.-Ing. Hans-Peter Behrendt
2009 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Walter Wild
2008 Prof.em. Dr.-Ing. Dr.h.c. Klaus Hein
2007 Dr.-Ing. E.h. Willi Heim
2006 Prof. Dr. Rainer Slotta
2005 Dr.-Ing. Werner Marnette
Prof. em. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. mont. Dr. h.c. Peter Paschen
2004 Prof. em. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Krüger
2002 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.h.c. Friedrich-Wilhelm Wellmer
2000 Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. e.h. Dieter Henning
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.h.c. Roland Kammel
1998 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Dr.h.c. mult. Günter B. L. Fettweis
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Heinz Hoberg
1996 Dr.-Ing. Rolfroderich Nemitz
1994 Birgit Breuel
1992 Sir Arvi Parbo
1990 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Arno Singewald
1987 Bergass. a.D. Dr.-Ing. Hans Messerschmidt
1986 Prof. em. Dr.-Ing. Franz Pawlek
1984 Bergass. a.D. Dr.-Ing. e.h. Gerd Glatzel
Bergass. a.D. Otto Hahn
1982 Dr.-Ing. e.h. Dipl.-Geol. Günter Sassmanshausen
1979 Prof. Dr.phil. Dr.-Ing. Kurt J. E. Meyer
1978 Prof. Dr.mont.h.c. Per Gudmar Kihlstedt
1976 Dr.rer.nat. Boris Tougarinoff
1975 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Günter Dorstewitz
1973 Dr.-Ing. Hans Fritzsche
1972 Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. e.h. Hellmut Ley
Dr.-Ing. Friedrich-Wilhelm Wrigge
1970 Dr. Dr. h.c. Paul Ramdohr
1969 Dipl.-Ing. Klaus Seiffert
1968 Oberbergrat a.D. Dr. Ing. e.h. Hans Röver
1967 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans Ginsberg
Dipl.-Ing. Max Maczek
1966 Dr.-Ing. Fritz Herbst
Heinrich Schackmann
1962 Stephen W. K. Morgan
Bergass. a.D. Dr.h.c. Karl Kaup
1958 Bergass. a.D. Prof. Dr. Erich Böhne
1957 Bergass. a.D. Prof. Dr. Ferdinand Friedenburg
1952 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Friedrich Johannsen
1951 Bergrat Dr.phil. Eero Mäkinen
1950 Dr.-Ing. Otte Proske
1949 Bergrat a.D. Dr.-Ing. e.h. Paul Ferdiand Hast
1941 Dr.-Ing. Dr.-Ing. e.h. Felix Warlimont
1937 Min.Rat. Geh. Bergrat Curt Pasel
1930 Dr.-Ing. e.h. Eduard Zintgraff
1927 Dr.-Ing. Wilhelm Bornhardt
1925 Geh. Bergrat Prof. Dr.-Ing. e.h. Carl Schiffer
1924 Dr.-Ing. e.h. Ferdinand Heberlein